WP_20170521_039

There are two halves constantly at war within me.

The first is control,

My center,

It is the side I am rooting for

While the other is anarchy,

Total chaos,

Whose consequences would be catastrophic

Were it to emerge victorious.

Such is the state of my psyche at any given moment.

I am a walking time bomb,

A human pressure cooker whose settings are too high.

 

At the age of 26

(A lifetime ago,)

My buddy and I spoke at length about the 27 Club.

Uncharacteristically grave,

He made me swear that I would never join its notorious ranks,

(Though praise be to Hendrix, Joplin, and Cobain.)

 

What do you do when your hometown

No longer feels like home,

When the people you love and all the memories you’ve gathered

Have gone away,

Leaving a place tinged with melancholy

Despite the near-constant sunshine?

 

Fleeing the unreal city,

My spirit travels a thousand miles

To the banks of a mighty river.

Resting for a moment on a loveseat,

I observe the transience of nature

And the walks of life that cross

The old suspension bridge.

 

Gray, ominous,

The western sky promises rain.

Needless to say, I welcome it,

So that I may emerge newly baptized

Beneath the Midwestern sun.

To be reborn to the strains of folk music

Playing on the deck

Of a passing riverboat.


© Chester Sakamoto

